Minutes of the Annual Meeting of RHUTHUN TOWN COUNCIL held online via Zoom on Monday, 14 December 2020 at 7.00p.m.

PRESENT: Cllr. Gavin Harris (**Mayor**), Cllr. Heather Williams (**Deputy Mayor**) and Councillors Jim Bryan, Ken Hawkins, John Wynne Hughes, Menna Jones, Ian Lewney, Robert Owen-Ellis, Anne Roberts, Mike van der Eijk and Ifan Wyn.

1. WELCOME AND APOLOGIES

The Mayor welcomed all to the Annual Meeting, which has been postponed from May due to the Covid-19 coronavirus restrictions. The agenda included business items that needed to be discussed prior to the end of the calendar year only, in accordance with revised regulations. Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Stephen Beach and Jabez Oakes.

2. MAYOR'S ADDRESS

The Mayor thanked fellow councillors and the residents of Ruthin for their response during the recent period of lockdown and movement restriction. He stated that he would give a more detailed address at the AGM in May.

3. RECORD OF MEMBERS' ATTENDANCES

The Mayor explained that due to a technical issue the record of attendances had not been distributed. It would be sent to members prior to the next meeting.

4. WELSH LANGUAGE SCHEME ANNUAL REPORT

Councillor Ifan Wyn, Chair of the Welsh Language Committee, provided a verbal report on the work undertaken by the Welsh Language Committee. The recent meeting had focussed on the Town Council's Communication Strategy and ensuring that it adhered to the Council's Welsh Language policy. The Committee had also considered how the Council could further promote bilingualism in Ruthin.

5. ELECTION OF MAYOR FOR THE REMAINDER OF 2020/2021

On the proposal of Cllr. Anne Roberts, seconded by Cllr. John Wynne Hughes, it was resolved that Cllr. Gavin Harris be elected Town Mayor of Rhuthun for the remainder of the municipal year 2020/2021.

6. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR FOR THE REMAINDER OF 2020/2021

On the proposal of Cllr. Jim Bryan and seconded by Cllr. Anne Roberts it was resolved that Cllr. Heather Williams be elected Deputy Mayor for the remainder of the municipal year 2020/2021.