Ruthin is a picturesque town located in the heart of both Denbighshire and the Vale of Clwyd. Recently, Ruthin has been named the Sunday Time’s “Best Place to Live in Wales”. It also ranked ninth out of the UK as a whole. Helen Davies, editor of Best Places To Live 2023, said “It’s a small town with big ambitions and an even bigger heart”.

Ruthin Town Council was formed following the re-organisation of local Government in 1974. The  Town Council consists of fifteen Councillors, the Town Clerk and the Old Courthouse Manager / Deputy Town Clerk.

The new Mayor for the Civil Year 2023-2024 is Councillor Anne Roberts, and the new Deputy Mayor is Councillor Jabez Redfern Oakes.

The Mayor for the Civic Year 2022 – 2023 was Councillor Menna Jones, and the Deputy Mayor was Councillor Anne Roberts.


You may contact the Town Councillors using the telephone number or e-mail address against their individual entry or the following address for traditional post:

Ruthin Town Council
The Old Courthouse
St. Peter’s Square
LL15 1AA

Telephone: 01824 703797

E-mail: clerk@ruthintowncouncil.gov.uk